top of page
  • Writer's pictureRhiannon Ling

Hi, I'm Rhiannon!, or: Levity in Apocalyptic Times

Updated: Mar 24, 2020




Hey, y'all! I hope your day has been treating you well. I know that anxiety is at an all-time high right now from the coronavirus pandemic; I, too, am battling fear and uncertainty, and trying my best to find the levity in this crazy, crazy time. What stories we'll have to tell about 2020 later on, huh?


Because of that, I wanted to add a bit of light to the darkness that a lot of us are experiencing right now. Originally, I was planning to write my (stupidly late) birthday tradition of "21 Things I've Learned in 21 Years," but, TBH, I didn't feel like being reflective or philosophical today. I just wanted something fun. Aaaaaand I realized I've never actually done a "Hey, this is me and the stuff I'm into and do" post on here, so I thought I would! I'd love to hear your answers to some of these questions, too. Let's talk about who we are and the stuff we love! Positivity only in this post today. Love you all! :)


So, hey! I'm Rhiannon!


What's Your Middle Name? Nichole - my mom likes the letter "h" in names ;)


Where Does Your First Name Come From? The 1975 song by Fleetwood Mac! My parents are the true opposite of hippies, though, which tends to crack people up. :)


How Many Siblings Do You Have? Two! I'm the oldest, with a younger sister (16) and a younger brother (15).


What's Your "Type"? Because I'm very much into this sort of thing...

  • I'm a Virgo Sun, Sagittarius Moon, and Aquarius Rising

  • I'm a Ravenclaw

  • My MBTI type is INFP

  • My Enneagram type is 1w9

  • My Human Design type is Manifesting Generator


What's Your Religion? I'm a fledgling witch, so my belief system is kind of a combination of a lot of things. The majority of them align with Celtic paganism. (Feel free to ask me all the questions about it!)


What's Your College Major? I'm a BFA Theatre Arts major, Creative Writing minor


What Do You Actually Want to Do With That? I'm what people have started to call a "multi-hyphenate" artist (yeah, I know, it sounds uppity as HELL). I'm a performer, a writer, a historian, a dramaturg, a teaching artist, an academic, all sorts of things. I'd love to do all of them, in some way! :)


What Are You Working On Right Now? A novel, a series of short stories, and two plays. There's a lot happening. I love it. :)


Dream Travel Spot? Y'all, I've wanted to visit Amsterdam for YEARS. Oh my GOD.


Dream Job as a Kid? I wanted to be a doctor when I was super little, but quickly discovered that math and science ain't for me. Neither is blood. Or bodily fluids in general. Props to you, doctors.


Kids' Names That You Love: Austen, Gatsby, and Mira for girls. Darcy, Atticus, and Jem for boys. All very literary/musical. Not sorry about it. ;)


Top 3 Films: Artistically, it's gotta be The Theory of Everything, The Imitation Game, and Little Women (2019). For ones I could actively watch over and over again, it's Midnight in Paris, The Greatest Showman, and Brooklyn.


Top 3 TV Series: Sherlock (I've watched it all the way through about 8 times and can say the lines with the actors. Don't judge me.), Downton Abbey, and Gilmore Girls


Top Limited Series: HBO's John Adams and The Time in Between


Top 3 Period Dramas: Downton Abbey, The Crown, and Victoria (Poldark is very close behind!)


Top 3 Video Games: Detroit: Become Human, Uncharted 4/Uncharted: The Lost Legacy (they're tied, I'm sorry!), and any of the Nancy Drew PC games - they're all art, and I will die on that hill.


Favorite Book Series: All of Cassandra Clare's Shadowhunters Chronicles, hands-down. It's my Harry Potter, basically.


(Note that I'm refusing to give favorite books. That ish is impossible for me.)


Favorite Dessert: Sugar-crusted chocolate strawberry shortcake. It's a specialty of my Mom's. :)


Favorite Drink: Hot tea, always. I'm very into matcha lattes and London fogs, especially.


Favorite YouTubers: Cheyenne Barton, Kalyn Nicholson and Rachel Maksy are my current faves!


Favorite Instagrams: TheGlobetrotterFamily, Vintage_Egyptologist and Michael + Matt are my go-tos right now!


Favorite Podcasts: Not Your Father's History, 88 Cups of Tea, Strange Magic (now Between the Worlds), Page to Stage, Mystic Witch, and Almost 30 have consistently been wonderful for me. :)


Current Jams: "New Religion" by The Heydaze, "Trampoline" by The Unlikely Candidates, "Iscariot" by Fundamentally Sound, "Music Again" by Adam Lambert, "I Say No" from Heathers, and "Party Tattoos" by dodie.


What's Something You're Excited For Right This Second? Spending time with those I love and being able to read/write more frequently!



That's a lot of rambling, but that's me! I'd love to know your answers to some of those, if you're comfortable sharing! Let's celebrate some of our joys in this current frenetic state!


Thanks for reading! Stay healthy, safe, and happy; I love you all! <3


~Rhiannon~






68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page