top of page
  • Writer's pictureRhiannon Ling

Not Just Physical: Dealing with a Severe Injury

Happy Wednesday, everyone! We are halfway through Dead Week out here in New York; I hope that your studying/finals/daily life is going well!


This week’s topic is one that is on my mind constantly nowadays. For those of you that don’t know, I suffered a severe hip injury during a dance class this last November: a partial tear in the labrum of my hip, leading to bursitis and tendinitis, among other things. Basically, everything in my hip is angry and inflamed, bringing with it almost constant severe pain.


Just figuring out that much took a long time: many, many doctor’s visits (in New York and Nebraska), several X-rays, two MRIs, and one injection (fuuuuuuun). The diagnosis took literal months to get. Afterwards, we tried several different pathways to fix it, including physical therapy, medication, and a shot. Unfortunately, nothing has fully worked yet. Though I’m off the cane I was using, I still need a brace and pain medication. I’m still dealing with a lot of pain every day. I still can’t jump back in to dance class, worse flare-ups imminent if I do.


Needless to say, it absolutely sucks. I try not to talk about it all that much; I feel bad annoying people with something that is so constant and seemingly a juvenile complaint. I know that that’s a totally illogical thought process—more on that down below!—but it’s the way my mind jumps, as I’m sure many others do. However, the one minor (er…kinda big?) upside to having a severe injury for as long as I have is this: I’ve learned how to deal with it. I’ve learned how to handle something this painfully bad. Throughout the months (oh my god, it’s almost been six, I’ve just realized) of living with this, I’ve developed some handy, generalized tips and tricks for living with constant pain. I thought I’d share them with you, both to get the feelings out of my mind and in the hopes that, maybe, someone who needs to see this will find it.


Keep in mind, though, that I’m not perfect. Some days, some hours, are still hard. Sometimes the pain flares up so badly that I literally have to lay on the floor, curled up, until it subsides enough to move. I still have to remind myself of these tactics. But that’s okay. Baby steps are still steps forward, and that is enough.


Keep your head held high, friends. And if you need some help or reminding, check out the tips below! :)



Image not my own. Found on Pinterest - all credit goes to original creator.


Physical

1) Do what your doctor says. This is the obvious one, but still worth mentioning. Don’t be stubborn: try whatever your doctor recommends at least once. If it doesn’t work, stop doing it and report back, but don’t be an obstinate person. There is nothing shameful in admitting that something is wrong and accepting help from someone who knows more than you. Whether he or she be a physician, an orthopedic doctor, a radiologist, a physical therapist, or anyone in between, please honor their advice. The medical community tends to know what they’re doing when it comes to this stuff.


2) Don’t discount organic or holistic remedies. The above being said, don’t be so fast to turn away remedies that have nothing to do with modern medicine. Since nothing has worked for me yet, I’ve begun delving into vitamin supplements and started researching various other methods of either dealing with or curing pain. I don’t know how much they’re helping yet, but it never hurts to try. You might just strike gold on something seemingly obscure! After all, who knows? Maybe that extra turmeric will do the trick, or drinking some extra Vitamin C, or learning to do energy healing. Don’t discount anything (as long as it’s healthy, of course!).



3) Find some way to make yourself feel strong. I had a lot of trouble with this when I was first injured. I had been making strides in my dance classes, and had really felt myself growing stronger as a dancer. I had been seeing improvement in myself every day. To have that suddenly stripped away in a millisecond was, to put it lightly, hard. I was frustrated with my body, disappointed and aggravated that I couldn’t do anything that I could before. It was really hard. To cope with that (after some advice from my beloved professors), I started doing other things to remind me of my strength. Since I couldn’t do a full yoga flow anymore, I did more sit-ups; since I couldn’t plank anymore, I started doing push-ups with my knees on the ground, to stop stress on the pelvis. Find that strength-inducing thing for you. Whether it be working core strength, using light weights for your arms, or working the legs because of an arm injury, find something that reminds you that you’re strong and capable. Because you are.


4) Listen to your body. This is a BIG one I’ve learned. Injuries make you so, so aware of what your body is doing and feeling, and that can be so helpful. Listen to what your body is telling you. Rest it when it needs rest. Know your limits, and don’t push them too far. Take care of this body and allow it to instruct you: it’s the only one you’ve got.


5) Cut yourself some slack. Seriously, please do this. Injuries are physically, mentally, and emotionally exhausting, and you can’t expect yourself to feel good or to feel improvement 100% of the time. Give yourself some love. When you’re frustrated, remind yourself that you are making steps forward. That you are capable, and worthy, and strong. That your body just needs some time off now, and you’re going to let it. Be gentle with yourself. Figure out how to let some of this stuff just be.


Mental

1) Acknowledge that it is okay to feel this way. I did NOT anticipate a physical injury being this mentally and emotionally exhausting. I had no idea that something like this could so badly affect the brain; for a while, that made me question my sanity. But here’s the thing: the body, the mind, the heart, and the soul all interconnect. If one is hurting, so will the others, in some way or another. If you are feeling frustrated, if you want to cry, or scream, or punch a pillow, know that that is normal and it is okay. If you feel more tired than normal or less motivated, know that that is normal and it is okay. Acknowledge that an injury hurts the psyche, too, and you’ll be better for it.


2) Surround yourself with a good support system. This includes family, friends, teachers, medical professionals, counselors, and whoever the heck else you want and need. Make sure you have good people to support you, people who you can talk to. Don’t let yourself be dragged down by people who redirect the conversation to themselves or who get annoyed by your talking about something that is really affecting you right now. A warm, kind, loving environment can make all the difference in your mental state: build one for yourself now.



3) Know that you are doing the best you can. I once had a voice teacher tell me, “You can only give 100% of what you’re feeling that day. No day will ever be the same.” That’s stuck with me, all these years later. As long as you are trying, as long as you aren’t giving up, then you’re succeeding. You’ve already conquered the beast of surrender that day; there isn’t a white flag sticking out of your shoulder. That’s something to be proud of. So, when you get frustrated with yourself, remind your brain. Tell yourself, “It’s okay. I’m doing the best I can, and that’s enough.” Because it is.


4) Give your mind a break. Read a book. Meditate. Watch your favorite Netflix show. Lay on your back outside and watch the clouds. Play a video game. Whatever it is, do it. Dealing with this crap is exhausting. Let your mind turn off and travel elsewhere for a while. It’s good for you. :)


5) If you need to, cry. I hate crying, too, so I relate. But all crying is is a release of tension or emotion, stuff that has been manifesting in your body for too long. Let that out! You’ll feel so much better afterwards. Despite stinging eyes, you will feel like a weight has been lifted off your shoulders. If you need to, cry.


6) Know, deep down, that this will make you stronger. Every hardship we deal with in life makes us who we are. It builds us just a little bit more. Just as muscles heal stronger than before, so does our mind, heart, and soul. You will be a stronger, wiser person for being injured. You will come back better than ever. I promise that both to you and to myself. We can do this.


7) Cut yourself some slack. Repeated because it’s important. Be kind to yourself, friends. <3


And that’s it! Those are the major ones. If you or a loved one is dealing with a severe injury out there, do not lose hope. This isn’t forever. Hold your head up high, or your crown will fall off. ;) Stay strong. You got this!


Image not my own. Credit to quotefancy.com.

As always, thank you for reading! Have a great day!


~Rhiannon~

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

August.

bottom of page