top of page
  • Writer's pictureRhiannon Ling

Guess Who's Back...

(Feel free to burst into some Eminem from that title…I won’t judge you. ;) )


Hello, hello, hello! Happy Tuesday, everyone! It’s been over a month since I last posted anything, and that’s a ridiculously long time, I know. Life got rather chaotic for a while there (and still is, to be honest); I finally have a chance to sit down for a little bit and compose this short thing for ya, just a little update as to where I am and what I’m doing. It’s been a hot second, so let’s catch up!


Here’s what I’ve been up to recently…


1) I’m back in Nebraska. Yup, you read that correctly! For those of you who haven’t seen my social media posts, I am indeed back in Nebraska. It’s an excessively long story as to why, but that doesn’t much matter anymore. I’m back in Lincoln for at least two years, while I finish my degree. That doesn’t mean I won’t be back, East Coast; I most certainly will! For now, though, I’m here in the Heartland, enjoying countryside drives, Haymarket nights, and maybe the occasional Runza. ;)



2) I’m officially a transfer student. Hey, Nebraska Wesleyan friends, I’ll see you in the spring! Starting in January, I’ll be a double major—English and Theatre—at NWU; it’s more than likely I’ll still finish in two to two-and-a-half years, though, so I’m staying “on track” (whatever that phrase means in this weird brain o’ mine). If any of you are there, let me know. Maybe we can hang out sometime!



3) I’m back to performing publicly! If any of you haven’t seen my (approximately) 50 million Facebook and Instagram posts about this, then hey! Yes! I’m in my first show outside of conservatory training, and I couldn’t be more thrilled about it. It’s a new musical, entitled Catherland, written by a local composer/lyricist duo in Lincoln; it follows the story of my character, Susan, who moves from Chicago to Red Cloud, NE with her husband. Once there, they discover quite the complex, maybe-a-little-spooky storyline. The music is gorgeous, the characters endearing, and the twists engaging: I highly recommend seeing it. Plus, my cast is insane (shout out to you guys: I’m so grateful for you!), and you should come see it for them alone. We close this weekend, so only four more chances to see it! Seriously, I’m proud of this one, so you should come. :)


Photo courtesy of the TADA Theatre.

4) I’ve been reading. A lot. I need to do another catch-up post on this blog. There’s a solid, like, fifteen books that I haven’t posted on here that I’ve read. They’re some great ones, too. Look out for that piece: I have it planned!


5) I’ve been focusing a lot on self-care. Now, that doesn’t mean that I’ve been ignoring the people I love and care about. Absolutely not. But after going through the upheaval of the last several months (really, from about June onward), I needed to take some time to better myself. Yoga, meditation, therapy, journaling, reading, working out, writing poetry and some rough lyrics, discovering new music or new artists…that’s all been a part of this journey that I’m still on. Once I feel comfortable, maybe I’ll go into a bit more depth as to what all that means; we’ll see. :) For now, let me just reiterate this: taking care of yourself is not selfish. It’s the opposite of that. After all, how can you expect to love anyone else if you can’t love yourself?



That’s all for now! Just a quick update for you. I’m planning on writing and getting up some new posts soon; check out my social media, because I want to see what you all want to read first. I’ll be putting up polls right after this post goes live. :) Have a wonderful, wonderful day!


~Rhiannon~



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

August.

bottom of page