top of page
  • Writer's pictureRhiannon Ling

A Lot, But Not Much

Hellooooo from Thanksgiving break!


It's been a while, friends. A four(ish)-month while. I forget how terrible I am at keeping this updated during the school year: 9 am to 10 pm days, three to four times a week, can really take it out of you. Add extra classes to the other days, a show weekend, and the run-up to demos/finals week, and you've got a recipe for Rhiannon entirely forgetting to dedicate time to her blog. (You've also got a recipe for Rhiannon not allowing herself to journal, read non-academic books, or do any self-care at all, but I'm working on it.) So, sorry, friends!


I'm staying in NYC for this short little break, relishing the mental relaxation that I'm finally allowed, and decided that there's no time like the present to update this lovely little internet place! You're catching me on the other side of a show, auditions/callbacks, midterms and midterm demos, and at the beginning of audition and application season for regional theatres' summer shows and internships, on top of finals week(s). There's been a lot happening. Let's catch up, yeah?


(Also, there won't be many photos to accompany this. Your girl is horrendous at remembering to take pictures. I prefer to just experience, then regret the lack of photos afterwards, only made up for in a multitude of journal entries.)


The end of first semester of my junior year is near. It's gone by so, so quickly, because it's been hectic. For those of you who aren't familiar with conservatory training programs, they are rigorous, time-consuming, and exhausting: although I love my courses, and am so grateful for the training I'm getting, I can't deny that. Currently, I'm taking nine classes; earlier in the semester, that was in addition to rehearsals three nights a week plus Saturdays. My classes involve scene study work in classical and contemporary works, classical training, voice lessons, dance classes in three to four different styles, general education (it's environmental science and a spirituality/fulfillment course this semester), and whatever I'm doing for my minor. This adds up to days that stretch over twelve hours. Thankfully, we're past that now, as rehearsals are done. It's exhausting, but we love the work. Truly. Don't look so confused. ;)


(Oh! And for those of you who are new: I'm a musical theatre major, creative writing minor in CAP21 Conservatory/Molloy College's BFA program in New York City. Welcome! :))


The big thing in my life this past semester was our Song & Dance Project. Basically, it's a cabaret in which we showcase our ability to do The Big Three--acting, singing, and dancing--simultaneously. I was the "Bring On the Men" soloist, and loved every moment of performing that song. In fact, every piece was well-chosen, a challenge, and ridiculously fun.The process was exhausting, brutal on every part of our bodies, but so, so rewarding. It's my favorite show I've done in college.


I also got laryngitis right before our six-show weekend, and was on steroids and vocal rest the whole time. Yaaaaaay. (I just thank god I could belt the note at the end consistently. Oof.)



I got new headshots taken at the beginning of this month, and I am absolutely thrilled by how they turned out. Performer friends, if you're needing new ones, you NEED to hit up Christie of Rebel Darling Studio. She's brilliant. She made me feel so very at-home in the studio, and, as an actor and director herself, she knew precisely what to say to get the results we both were wanting. An absolute sweetheart, and incredibly talented. I mean, just LOOK at these! (Given to you in full-size, as I can't bring myself to crop her work in any way.)

(I just...I can't. These are fantastic.)


My mama visited me this November, as well. It was a short weekend visit, but much-loved, all the same. We brunched (the Oscar Wilde Bar and The Little Beet Table), shopped (the Strand Bookstore and the Bryant Park Christmas Village, both must-visits that we love to go to), perused vintage stores, and explored the Flatiron District a bit. It was a wonderfully bookish mother-daughter weekend. :)



Oh! With the time that's passed, I entirely forgot to finish the Brooklyn update: yes, indeed, I am fully moved in to my apartment. I don't particularly enjoy the neighborhood, as it doesn't quite fit with my energy, but I do love my little room. Jay came out with me for two weeks to help move in and to ring in my twenty-first birthday. It was his first time in the city, so we, of course, explored. I had to show my love my favorite places: Chelsea, Fort Greene, the Highline, Central Park, the Strand, the Met, the Museum of Natural History, the best record stores and half-price book stores, my most-loved restaurants...and, yes, I took him to Times Square, pointing out each theatre along the way. Everyone needs to see it once. It was a lovely two weeks, and I can't wait to show him more the next time he's out. The list just keeps growing. (Get ready, love. ;))


Other than that, I've been reading and journaling when I can. I finished my gargantuan leather journal from Manitou Springs (it's been a friend since 2017, so it's seen some huge life changes); I'm on a history kick with my books. I finished Season 3 of The Crown: I thought the ending to be a bit anticlimactic, with the best episodes in the middle. I've started watching Gilmore Girls--after people have tried to get me to watch it for literal years--and have fallen in love with it. My favorite podcasts recently have been 88 Cups of Tea and Strange Magic; my current favorite Spotify playlists are "autumn harvest" and "Witchy Vibes." I'm prepping for applications and upcoming auditions; I'm also readying myself to jump into Vengeance, a new country revenge musical, at CAP21 in the spring semester.


So, yeah. A lot.


I go home to Nebraska in 17 days for winter break, and I am so, so excited. I'll end up flying in just before Jay's and my anniversary; I was afraid finals would make me miss it, and I'm so excited to be back before then. I miss everyone back home, and I can't wait to catch up with my family. See ya soon, Midwest. :)


If you made it all the way here, I owe you a cookie. ;) Thanks for reading! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, full of delectable dishes and beloved family time!


~Rhiannon~


P.S. I never did my birthday tradition this year, of "21 Things I've Learned in 21 Years." Would you like one?







63 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

2022

bottom of page